Rules and regulations for IOP in Ireland, Scotland and Wales (ISW) Bylaw states:

“Each Branch shall be constituted and its affairs shall be conducted in accordance with and subject to these Bylaws and in accordance with such rules and regulations and in such manner as may from time to time be approved by the Council. All Honorary Officers and the majority of the members other than Honorary Officers of any executive committee of each Branch shall be elected by members of that Branch from amongst Corporate Members.”

1. Purpose

  • Organise local programmes of physics related events such as talks and visits for members
  • Provide an opportunity for members to become involved in activities such as outreach and to help develop and deliver the IOP strategy and objectives
  • Represent the Institute to the national government or devolved administrations across the range of Institute activities in consultation with Boards and Committees of Council and the Executive staff

2. Responsibilities and Powers
The core functions of the committee will be:

  • Preparation of an activity plan and associated budget
  • Organise and deliver activities (within the Institute policies and guidelines)
  • Reporting of activity and expenditure
  • Management of ISW finance within the financial regulations of the Institute

3. ISW Membership
The ISW Members shall be those members whose correspondence address maintained with the Institute is within the area assigned to the ISW by the Council, OR those members who have recorded with the Institute their wish to be a member of the ISW.

4. Committee Membership

Elected by ISW members (candidates must be Fellow or Member)Chair
Elected by ISW members (candidates must be Fellow or Member)Secretary
Elected by ISW members (candidates must be Fellow or Member)Treasurer
Elected by ISW members (candidates must be Fellow or Member)Co-Chair or Vice-Chair or Chair -elect
Ordinary members (at least 3, no more than 9) – elected by ISW members 
Co-opted members (up to 3) – selected by Committee 
National Officer / RepresentativeStaff member, in attendance

5. Election of Committee members
Vacancies for Officers of the ISW and Ordinary Members of the Committee shall be filled by annual election. 

At least 10 weeks before the date of the election (normally by July) nominations for election to the committee should be sought from members of the ISW. Nominations require the support of not less than two ISW members and the consent of the nominee. The call for nominations should be open for not less than 4 weeks. One week after the close of nominations details of all nominees and a ballot paper (or alternative electronic system) should be distributed to all members eligible to vote. The ballot should remain open for two weeks. 

If the number of nominations does not exceed the number of vacancies then those nominated will be deemed elected to the vacant positions. 

If at the close of nominations there are no nominations for any of the vacant officer positions then the Committee shall have the authority to make an appointment to the vacancy.

Week 0Date of election 
Week 0 minus 1 Ballot open week 2
Week 0 minus 2 Ballot open week 1
Week 0 minus 3Details of ballot and ballot papers (if required) must be issued (latest possible date) 
Week 0 minus 4  
Week 0 minus 5Details of ballot and ballot papers (if required) issued 
Week 0 minus 6 Nominations open week 4
Week 0 minus 7 Nominations open week 3
Week 0 minus 8 Nominations open week 2
Week 0 minus 9 Nominations open week 1
Week 0 minus 10Nominations must be sought from members (latest possible date) 

6. Co-option
The Committee shall have power to co-opt up to three members. This might include members of other Institute committees or other professional bodies for the purpose of programme co-ordination. Co-opted members shall be eligible to vote at Committee meetings. Co-opted members shall stand down on 30 September. They shall be eligible for reappointment by the Committee as coopted members for no more than three successive reappointments.

7. Casual vacancies
Any casual vacancy occurring may be filled by the Committee and a person selected in this way shall retain office until the commencement of the next committee year.

8. Duration of committee membership
No person may be a member of the committee in any capacity for more than nine consecutive years in any period of thirteen consecutive years without specific prior approval of the Nations and Branches Committee

The Chair, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer shall be elected for a maximum of three years. 

No member shall hold any combination of Officer posts for more than six consecutive years.

Officers shall (normally) be elected for a period of not more than three years and may not be re-elected to the same post until the elapse of two years. Where the posts of Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer are combined an individual may be elected to the combined post for not more than six years.

Ordinary Committee members
Ordinary Committee members shall be elected for a maximum of three years.

Cookie Settings